Azerbaijan International

Armenia - Lone Dissenter of OSCE
"I regret that Armenia could not accept the principles which have the support of all other participating states."

Flabio Cotti, Swiss Foreign Minister and Chairman of the OSCE (Organization on the Security and Cooperation of Europe) at the Lisbon Summit on December 3, 1996, when all 54 member countries except Armenia voted that Nagorno-Karabakh be legally defined as a part of Azerbaijan.

[The three principles of the Lisbon Declaration include (1) support for the territorial integrity of Armenia and Azerbaijan; (2) the legal status of Nagorno-Karabakh as one of the highest degrees of self-rule within Azerbaijan; and (3) the guarantee for the security of Nagorno-Karabakh and its entire population].

From Azerbaijan International (4.4) Winter 1996.
© Azerbaijan International 1996.

AI home page